Turn on/off prompt to confirm file delete
When you delete a file from Windows Explorers, My Computer and most other Windows applications you will usually get a message asking you to confirm that file deletion. That can be a useful feature to avoid accidental deletion. If you do a lot of deleting, however, that feature can become annoying, and you probably will quit paying attention to it anyway. You can turn off the prompt. If you decide you want the prompt you can easily restore it. Note: Files that originate on network drives are not saved in the Recycle Bin. Only local files are saved in the Recycle Bin until you choose to permanently delete them.
Click on the link for more infomation about that topic
Turn off the confirm file delete prompt for all future file deletions.
Right click on the Recycle Bin icon on your desktop.
Select P roperties.
Click on the Global tab.
Click the box next to Display delete confirmation dialog to uncheck the box.
Click the Apply button.
Click OK to close the Recycle Bin properties window.
When you delete files you should no longer get a message asking you to confirm your intention to delete the files.
Turn on the confirm file delete prompt for all future file deletions.
Right click on the Recycle Bin icon on your desktop.
Click on the Global tab.
Select P roperties.
Click the box next to Display delete confirmation dialog to check the box.
Click the Apply button.
Click OK to close the Recycle Bin properties window.
When you delete files you should now get a message asking you to confirm your intention to delete the files.
Omit confirm file delete prompt for just one operation
If you don't want to turn off the confirm file delete prompt permanently but you want to omit the message for a particular operation just drag the files you want to delete directly to the recycle bin.
Find the file(s) you want to delete.
Put your mouse pointer on any of the selected files. Press the left mouse button down and hold it down. While holding down the left mouse button drag the files or folders to the Recycle Bin icon on your Windows desktop.
If you choose to drag the files directly to the Recycle Bin you will not get a confirmation message for files that are local to your machine. If you get a file delete confirmation message you are probably deleting files from the floppy or a networked drive.
Created by the PeopleSoft Knowledge Management Team.
Copyright © 2000
All rights reserved.
Created: db 03/24/2000
Revised: db 12/23/2003