How to set the Who Can See if I'm Online preference in Sametime Connect
The "Who Can See if I'm Online..." preference in Sametime Connect can be set so that a user can limit the active users who can see if they are online. It will also limit who the user can see as online or active as well.
Note: Connecting to AOL Instant Messenger from Sametime is not supported and is also a security risk. Names of AOL users should not be included on any personal groups or lists in Sametime.
To set the Who Can See if I'm Online preference:
Open Sametime Connect.
Select Options from the menu bar and select Who Can See if I'm Online... from the drop down menu.
Select the preferred option by clicking the radio button to the left of that option.
Note: Each option has a different effect on whether or not the user can see others online and whether they can see the user. Click a link below to see what affect the specific option has and how to set it.
Everybody can see if I am online: This is the default setting. All users including those in a public or personal group are visible in the Sametime Connect window. Their status will be indicated - Active, Away, Do Not Disturb or Offline.
Depending on the option selected, users may or may not be visible in the Sametime Connect window.
When the option "O NLY list below" is selected, the affects are as follows:
After clicking the radio button to the left of O NLY list below:
Click the Add button.
Click the Directory button to open the PS Directory.
Type the last name of the person or group to be added to the list and click the Search button.
Single click on the name of the person or group and click the Add button.
Repeat this process for all people or groups to be added to the list.
Click the Close button to close the Directory.
Click OK when the list is complete.
The list has been created. Only those people or groups defined in the list can see if the user is online. They are visible as defined above.
NOTE: If using the option "ONLY list below," only those on the list will see the user as being active. People who have not been added to the list will always see the user as being offline.
Click here to return to the beginning of this document.
When the option "Everybody E XCEPT list below" is selected, the affects are:
After clicking the radio button to the left of Everybody E XCEPT list below:
Click the Add button.
Click the Directory button to open the PS Directory.
Type the last name of the person or group to be added to the list and click the Search button.
Single click on the name of the person or group and click the Add button.
Repeat this process for all people or groups to be added to the list.
Click the Close button to close the Directory.
Click OK when the list is complete.
The list has been created. Everyone except those people or groups defined in the list can see if the user is online. They are visible as defined above.
Click here to return to the beginning of this document.
Created by the PeopleSoft Knowledge Management Team.
Copyright © 2001
All rights reserved.
Created: dcb 07/19/2001
Revised: dcb 04/19/2004
Reviewed: 10/15/2004