How to uninstall and reinstall Connected TLM (Connected Backup) and reestablish your account

Document number: 15313

 

NOTE: Currently, these steps are applicable to legacy PeopleSoft users ONLY. If you are a legacy J.D. Edwards user, please open a NorthStar ticket to request an SMS package push.

Various problems can be solved by uninstalling and reinstalling Connected TLM (Connected Backup), including the error Failed rebuilding the backup agent database. Please contact customer support for assistance or close this application and restart to try again. Please try to close Connected TLM (Connected Backup), reboot and launch it again before trying the steps below.

Note: If you are receiving the error The requested logon account is not active or Account not active: Account Cancelled due to 60+ days of inactivity, see Eureka! document 21053 — ERROR: The requested logon account is not active because the resolution steps are slightly different in that situation.

 

PRELIMINARY STEP:

Make sure you know the account number and encryption key for the account you wish to re-establish. See Eureka! document 15222 — How to get your Connected TLM (Connected Backup) account number and encryption key.

 

UNINSTALL THE SOFTWARE

To uninstall the current Connected TLM (Connected Backup) software:

  1. Go to Start, Programs, Connected.

  2. Select Connected TLM (remove only). When asked if you want to remove the program, click OK.

  3. Allow the uninstall process to run to completion.

  4. Launch My Computer.

  5. Navigate to C:\Program Files\Connected and delete the folder and any remaining files in it, if the folder exists.

  6. Navigate to C:\Documents and settings\ yourusername\Start Menu\Programs\Startup and remove the Connected TaskBar Icon if it appears.

  7. Reboot your machine.

 

REINSTALL THE SOFTWARE

Follow these steps to reinstall the software so that you can regain your existing account:

  1. Open Lotus Notes, then open the Software Library by clicking the bookmark link.

  2. Click the Standard Software Package Installs icon.

  3. Scroll until you see the entry Connected Backup - User Page and double-click on it to open it.

  4. Scroll down to the section titled Re-Establishing a Connected Account for a User and open that section by clicking on the right-facing triangle next to the section.

  5. Read the instructions in that section.

  6. Click on the button labeled Re-Install Connected Network Backup.

Let the reinstallation run to completion.

 

RE-ESTABLISHING YOUR ACCOUNT

After the installation, Connected TLM may launch and ask you for information. Follow these steps to reestablish your existing account.

  1. Connected TLM may already be launched. If so, you can go to the next step. If not, double-click the Connected TLM (Connected Backup) icon in your System Tray Connected TLM icon to launch Connected TLM.
    • If you don't see the icon in the system tray then look in your Start menu. Then select Programs, then Connected, then Connected TLM.
      • The Connected entry may be at the bottom of the Programs list, rather than in its alphabetical position.
  2. When the screen opens to a Welcome to Registration screen Connected registration screen, then make sure the choice "You previously registered an account and are re-installing that account" is chosen and click Next. Then continue to the next step.
  3. The Reinstalling an Account screen is displayed. To restore an existing account you will need your account number, encryption key and password (if any). You may have already recorded that information. See Eureka! document 15222 — How to get your Connected TLM (Connected Backup) account number and encryption key.
    • If you did not record that information you will need to contact Technical Support Operations to retrieve it for you. Open a NorthStar ticket to start that process. Specify that you need this information in the ticket.

  4. Enter your account number. Click on Next.

  5. On the Re-Activating Encryption screen, enter the Encryption Key exactly as you have it, and click Next.

  6. On the Account Password screen, enter your personal password if you had one. If you did not, just click Next.

  7. Follow the instructions on the screens that appear. When the reinstallation process is complete, your screen will inform you that it is done.

Your account is now reestablished and you are ready to run Connected TLM (Connected Backup).

 

 

 

 

 

Created by the PeopleSoft Knowledge Management Team.
Copyright © 2003 All rights reserved.
Created: kcw 11/19/2002
Revised: kcw 07/10/2003
Reviewed: 09/07/2004