How to cancel a service order in Resource Management

Document number: 15289

 

Note: Only Resourcers may perform this function.

You cannot reopen a cancelled Service Order.

To manually cancel a Service Order, follow the general steps below. (For more detailed steps, click here.)

  1. Cancel all resource request assignments.

  2. Cancel Resource Request line(s) ( see the steps and details below for important information).

  3. Cancel the Service Order.

For more details about cancelling a Service Order, click here.

 

See also Eureka! document 15302 — Should you "Close" or "Cancel" a Service Order in Resource Management?

 

 


Cancelling a Service Order - Detailed Steps

Here are the more detailed steps to cancel a Service Order:

  1. Open the Service Order.

  2. Cancel all assignments on the service order (including those in Proposed status on Open Resource Request lines). The system will change the Resource Request line status to In Process.
  3. NOTE: These next two steps are critical to updating the resource's calendar. If you enter a new assignment row of Cancelled with an As of Date first, the application will not properly update the Resource's calendar when the assignment is saved. Once the assignment is in Cancelled status there is no way to change the associated calendar entries in the Resource's calendar.

  4. Change the existing Assignment End Date to the last day you want the resource working on the assignment.

  5. Save the assignment but DO NOT add a new status.

  6. Check the Resource's schedule to see that it updated correctly by the removal of the calendar entries.

  7. After confirming that the Resource's schedule has updated correctly by the removal of the calendar entries, insert a new Assignment Status row of Cancelled on the Assignment and enter an As of Date that also reflects the last day you want the resource working on the assignment.

  8. Save the Assignment.

  9. Change status on all Resource Request lines to Cancelled.

  10. Change Service Order status to Cancelled.

  11. Save the Service Order page.

The Service Order should now be cancelled, and the Resource's schedules should be appropriately updated.

 

 

 

Click here to go back to the beginning of this document.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Created by the PeopleSoft Knowledge Management Team.
Copyright © 2002 All rights reserved.
Created: kcw 10/03/2002
Revised: jel 10/15/2002
Reviewed: 09/03/2004