Conference Calls

Document number: 11368

 

The Conference window enables users to manage up to 32 conference participants.  Any participants running Interaction Client can add, disconnect, and perform other actions to the active conference call.

Note: As calls are dragged into this window to add participants, the Conference window can be placed on top as the active window.  Click the “Conference Call” icon in the top-left corner of this window and select “Always On Top” from the menu that appears.

Click on one of the following links for further information:

 


Starting a Conference Call

Select a Conference Organizer.  Other group members will be participants.

The Conference Organizer should complete steps 1-7:

  1. Place a call.  That call appears in the My Interactions window.  Place this caller on hold.

  2. Click Conference.  An empty Conference window appears.

  3. From the My Interactions window, click and drag the call with the first participant into the top pane of the Conference window.  Both your name and the name of the added participant appear in the top pane of the Conference window.

  4. In the Number field on the Telephone page, dial the number of the next participant.  The conference organizer can speak to the other conference call participants after returning to the Conference window.

  5. From the My Interactions window, click and drag the next participant into the top pane of the Conference window.

  6. Manage each of the connected participants using the button bar in the Conference window.  The call in your My Interactions windowis now identified by the name Conference Call.

  7. Repeat steps 3-6 until all members are added to the conference.

 

Click here to go back to the beginning of this document.


Using Conference Chat

The Conference window supports internal online, real-time typed conversations with other Interaction Client users in the conference call.  Conference call participants not using Interaction Client are unaware of these chat sessions.

In the Conference window, type a string of text in the field beside the Send button and then click Send.

All chat messages by all participants appear in the shaded pane above the Send button.

 

Click here to go back to the beginning of this document.


Removing Participants

Any Interaction Client user participating in a conference call can disconnect the other conference call participants.

  1. Select a participant from the list of calls in the Conference window.

  2. Click Disconnect, or right-click on the selected call and choose Disconnect Call from the menu that appears.

    NOTE: Some conference members may wish to stay connected once the meeting is finished, for wrap-up purposes.  Callers still connected to the conference show in the window.  Any parties remaining on the line who should not be part of the wrap-up group can be disconnected.

 

Click here to go back to the beginning of this document.


Ending the Call

Select and disconnect each party remaining in the Conference window.  Close the conference window.  My Interactions displays the call as a disconnected conference instead of the individual calls that were involved.

 

 

Click here to go back to the beginning of this document.

 

 

 

 

Created by the PeopleSoft Knowledge Management Team.
Copyright © 2001 All rights reserved.
Created: amq 11/02/2001
Revised: amq 03/20/2003
Reviewed: 8/10/04