Restoring an existing Connected account
Note: Currently, this information applies to legacy PeopleSoft machines and accounts only. Legacy J.D. Edwards employees should not try this at this time.
If you are getting a rebuild, or getting a new machine, you may wish to preserve your existing Connected TLM (Connected Backup) account so you can restore your existing files to the new environment. This consists of three steps (1) making sure you have your account number and encryption key (and password if any) (2) if a different account was established on the machine, removing that account and installing a fresh copy of Connected TLM and (3) reinstalling your old account. In the instructions below click this icon
to see a screen shot or graphic.
If you are planning ahead, you can get your account number and encryption key and store them in a safe place until you are ready to reestablish the account. See Eureka! document 15222 — How to get your Connected TLM (Connected Backup) account number and encryption Key. If you fail to take this step you will need to get that information from Technical Support Operations.
If you can't find Connected on the machine you can add it from the Software Library in Lotus Notes. For installation instructions see Eureka! document 15223 — How to install Connected TLM (Connected Backup).
If the screen opens to the Connected TLM (Connected Backup) home panel
you will need to uninstall the existing client and reinstall a clean copy.
Click here for instructions.
If you did not record that information you will need to contact Technical Support Operations to retrieve it for you. Open a NorthStar ticket to start that process. Specify that you need this information in the ticket.
Enter your account number. Click on Next.
On the
Re-Activating Encryption
screen, enter the
Encryption Key exactly as you have it, and click
Next.
On the Account Password screen, enter your personal password if you had one. If you did not, just click Next.
Follow the instructions on the screens that appear. When the reinstallation process is complete, your screen will inform you that it is done.
Your account is now reestablished and you are ready to run Connected TLM (Connected Backup).
How to uninstall the existing client
Go to the Start menu, select Programs, then Connected, and finally, Connected TLM (remove only)
Reinstall a clean copy from the Software Library. For installation instructions, see Eureka! document 15223 — How to install Connected TLM (Connected Backup).
Click here to go back to the beginning of this document.
Created by the PeopleSoft Knowledge Management Team.
Copyright © 2002
All rights reserved.
Created: amq 09/05/1999
Revised: kcw 07/09/2003
Reviewed: 10/25/2004